7 recanvass requests made to Secretary of State’s office


FRANKFORT, Ky. (KT) -  The November General Election is not yet over, as the Secretary of State’s office received seven requests to recanvass the vote totals from Nov. 6.

Tuesday was the deadline to file recanvass requests and seven races will be rechecked, six for the Kentucky House and one for Commonwealth’s Attorney.  The margins in those races ranged from one vote to 23 votes.

The recanvasses will take place Thursday, November 15 at 9 am, local time, in the following races, with the unofficial vote totals shown:

13th House District (Daviess County)

(D) Jim Glenn    6,319

(R) DJ Johnson  6.318  (Incumbent)


27th House District (Hardin and Meade counties)

(R)  Nancy Tate      6,938

(D)  Jeff Greer        6,932  (Incumbent)


81st House District (Madison County)

(R) Deanna Frazier     8,111

(D) Morgan Eaves      8,087


88th House District (Fayette County)

(D) Cherlynn Stevenson  12,378

(R) Bill Farmer                   12,330


91st House District (Breathitt, Estill, Lee, Madison and Owsley counties)

(D) Cluster Howard          7,385

(R) Gary “Toby” Herald   7,378


96th House District (Carter and Lawrence counties)

(D) Kathy Hinkle   7,136

(R) Jill York            7,131


37th Judicial District Commonwealth’s Attorney (Carter, Elliott and Morgan counties)

(D) Brandon Ison     7,509

(R) Justin Criswell    7,486


The recanvass is a check of vote totals from each voting machine and absentee ballots. Kentucky law requires county boards of elections to contact candidates involved in the recanvass to inform them of the time and place of the recanvass.

Following the recanvass, the State Board of Elections will meet Nov. 20 in Frankfort to certify and make official the results of the General Election and issue certificates of election to winners.



No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions