Bevin moves acting cabinet secretaries to fulltime posts


FRANKFORT, Ky. (KT) - Gov. Matt Bevin has named two people who had been acting cabinet secretaries in his administration to permanent leadership posts.

On Tuesday, the governor announced David Dickerson as Labor Secretary and Gail Russell as Public Protection Secretary.

Before being named Acting Labor Secretary last June, Dickerson served as Secretary of the Public Protection Cabinet.  Prior to joining the Bevin administration, Dickerson was a corporate officer in his family-owned lumber company, and he also served a term as Barren County judge/executive.

Prior to her appointment as Acting Secretary of the Public Protection Cabinet last June, Russell served as Deputy PPC Secretary and Small Business Ombudsman. Before joining the Bevin Administration, Russell was a top-rated bankruptcy law and creditors’ rights attorney, and she also served as a Special Justice on the Kentucky Supreme Court.

"The commonwealth is extremely blessed to have individuals with the character, competency and commitment of Gail Russell and David Dickerson serving in key leadership roles," said Bevin. "Both of them have already initiated important work in their respective cabinets, and we look forward to their continued strong contributions in moving Kentucky forward. We are grateful for David and Gail’s dedication to safeguarding the physical safety and financial security of Kentucky's workers and citizens.”

The Labor Cabinet is responsible for coordinating and promoting positive working relationships between labor and industry, while enforcing state labor laws. It oversees the Department of Workers’ Claims and the Department of Workplace Standards. In addition, the Workers’ Compensation Funding Commission, the Workers' Compensation Nominating Committee, the Kentucky Occupational Safety and Health Review Commission, the Occupational Safety and Health Standards Board, the Kentucky Employers’ Mutual Insurance Authority, and the State Labor Relations Board are attached to the Cabinet for administrative purposes.

The Public Protection Cabinet oversees nine diverse regulatory and licensing agencies, including the Department of Insurance, the Kentucky Claims Commission, the Department of Professional Licensing, the Kentucky Horse Racing Commission, the Kentucky Boxing and Wrestling Commission, the Department of Housing, Buildings and Construction, the Department of Financial Institutions, the Department of Charitable Gaming, and the Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control.


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions