House Republicans select chairs for committees


FRANKFORT, Ky. (KT) - The House Republican Caucus has announced their members who will serve as chairs of the House standing committees for the next two years.

Rep. Richard Heath, Mayfield

Appropriations & Revenue: 
Steven Rudy, Paducah

Banking & Insurance: 
Bart Rowland, Tompkinsville

Economic Development & Workforce Investment: 
Russell Webber, Shepherdsville

Regina Huff, Williamsburg

Elections, Constitutional Amendments & Intergovernmental Affairs: 
Kevin Bratcher, Louisville

Heath & Family Services: 
Kim Moser, Taylor Mill

Jason Petrie, Elkton

Licensing, Occupations & Administrative Regulations: 
Adam Koenig, Erlanger

Local Government: 
Michael Lee Meredith, Brownsville

Natural Resources & Energy: 
Jim Gooch, Providence

Small Business & Information Technology: 
Diane St. Onge, Lakeside Park

State Government: 
Jerry T. Miller, Louisville

Tourism & Outdoor Recreation: 
Tommy Turner, Somerset

Ken Upchurch, Monticello

Veterans, Military Affairs & Public Protection: 
Tim Moore, Elizabethtown

Six committees will have new chairs.

Webber replaces Phillip Pratt of Georgetown at Economic Development & Workforce Development; Huff replaces John Carney of Campbellsville, who will become majority floor leader; Bratcher, who decided not to seek another term as majority whip, replaces Kenny Imes of Murray, who resigned from the House to become Calloway County judge-executive; Moser replaces Addia Wuchner, who did not seek re-election; Petrie replace Joseph Fischer, who did not seek re-election; and Meredith replaces Rob Rothenburger of Shelbyville.

“The individuals we have chosen to lead key House committees reflect the tremendous talent, expertise and experience within the House Majority Caucus,” said Speaker-Designate David Osborne of Prospect. “With these appointments, we are putting our best foot forward for the people of Kentucky, placing leaders from across the state in key positions to influence policy. I can’t wait to get started.”

The 2019 General Assembly convenes Jan. 8-11 for its organizational week, then will be in recess until Feb. 5 for the remainder of the 30-day session which ends March 29.     


No comments on this story | Please log in to comment by clicking here
Please log in or register to add your comment

Powered by Creative Circle Media Solutions